OUR BISHOP

The Rt. Rev. Sean Rowe was ordained bishop of Northwestern Pennsylvania in 2007 and became Bishop Provisional of Western New York in 2019. He previously served as Bishop Provisional of the Diocese of Bethlehem from 2014 until 2018.  


Born in Sharon, Pennsylvania, Bishop Sean graduated from Grove City College in 1997 with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in History and graduated from Virginia Theological Seminary in 2000 with a Master in Divinity degree. Bishop Sean is known for his research and work on organizational learning and adaptive performance in the context of the church, and he earned a Ph.D. in organizational learning and leadership at Gannon University in Erie, PA.


Bishop Sean serves as parliamentarian for the House of Bishops and chair of the Episcopal Church Building Fund.  He is a member of the Standing Commission on Structure, Governance, and Constitution and Canons, as well as the Council of Advice to the President of the House of Deputies.


He is married to Carly Rowe, a Christian educator, and they have a six year old daughter, Lauren.


Bishop & staff

Sean Rowe

Bishop of Western New York and Northwestern Pennsylvania

seanrowe@dionwpa.org / seanrowe@episcopalwny.org

716.881.0660 ext. 113

814.456.4203 ext. 10

 

Cathy Dempesy-Sims

Canon to the Ordinary

cdsims@dionwpa.org / cdsims@episcopalwny.org

716.881.0660 ext. 114

 

Vanessa Butler

Canon for Administration

vbutler@dionwpa.org vbutler@episcopalwny.org

716.881.0660 ext. 113

814.456.4203 ext. 10

 

Cindy Dougan

Canon for Finance

cdougan@dionwpa.orgcdougan@episcopalwny.org

814.456.4203 ext. 11

 

Ruth Woodliff-Stanley

Canon for Strategic Change

rwoodliffstanley@dionwpa.orgrwoodliffstanley@episcopalwny.org

303-961-6720


Martha Ishman

Canon for Transitions

mishman@dionwpa.org mishman@episcopalwny.org

814.456.4203 ext. 14


Michael Brown

Missioner for Administration

mbrown@episcopalwny.org

716.881.0660 ext. 112


Maria Manocchio

Missioner for Finance

maria@episcopalwny.org

716.881.0660 ext. 118


Wendy Schumacher

Missioner for Youth and Children

wschumacher@episcopalwny.org

716.881.0660


Megin Sewak

Missioner for Communications & Development

msewak@dionwpa.org

814.456.4203


For Media Inquiries:

Rebecca Wilson

Canticle Communications

rebecca@canticlecommunications.com

330.524.2067


Danielle Dolin-Bane

Director for Integration

Drdbane@gmail.com

304-282-0406


Howard Gondree 

Financial Consultant

howardgondree@episcopalwny.org

716.881.0660 ext. 17


Al Johnson

Congregational Development Consultant 

ajohnson@dionwpa.org

 

Joann Piatko

Assistant for Ordinations

jpiatko@dionwpa.org

814.456.4203


Gail Winslow

Archdeacon

ggwinslow@gmail.com